South Sudan shapefiles

< back to East Africa shapefiles

South Sudan shapefiles (July 2014)

South Sudan is divided into three “greater” regions: Greater Bahr el Ghazal, Greater Equatoria, Greater Upper Nile. Administratively, South Sudan is divided into 10 states: Western Bahr el Ghazal, Northern Bahr el Ghazal, Warrap, Lakes, Unity, Upper Nile, Jonglei, Western Equatoria, Central Equatoria, Eastern Equatoria. In July 2014, Pibor and Pochalla counties were declared a new “Greater Pibor Administrative Area” (GPAA). Jonglei has been assured that GPAA will remain under their jurisdiction and it remains to be seen what the establishment of this area means in practice. Given the current state of negotiations, it seems likely that South Sudan may see some spatial reorganization in the future. However, talks of federalism have pointed to the division of already existing counties into new, smaller, states. Hopefully this county data remains relevant for the foreseeable future.

Please note that the Republic of South Sudan’s declared borders are different than the internationally recognized borders. It is recommended that you include the “disputed areas” shapefile in maps that you create of South Sudan to reflect areas whose status is still in negotiation. Borders are approximate and boundaries indicated do not imply recognition or endorsement.

South Sudan counties shapefile 

South Sudan states shapefile 

South Sudan disputed areas shapefile 

Sudan and South Sudan shapefile package (counties of Sudan and South Sudan, rivers, lakes, roads, railroads, key cities) 


South Sudan states, counties, and disputed areas