East Africa GIS Data and Maps

East Africa LAYER PACKAGES (.lpk)

Check out our newly updated ArcGIS layer packages for East Africa (click here)

For those working with ArcGIS, just drag and drop these layer packages into your ArcMap table of contents. Our full East Africa GIS layer package contains administrative divisions down to the county/locality/ward level for Sudan, South Sudan, Eritrea, Djibouti, Ethopia, Somalia, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Tanzania.

East Africa SHAPEFILES (.shp)

Download shapefiles for East Africa and individual countries (click here)

Shapefiles will work with most GIS programs.

Sudan and South Sudan Basic Interactive Map: States, Counties, Key Towns.

South Sudan Administrative Map

SSRC_STUDYAREAstatesSouth Sudan Ethnic Map (based on IMU/UNDP data)


Create your own maps of Sudan and South Sudan with our basic geographic data shapefiles: 

This file contains political boundaries (national and state), rivers, roads, important cities and towns, and disputed areas along the border between Sudan and South Sudan.